IOWA CITY, Iowa — The Big Ten unveiled its new schedule for the 2014 football season Thursday, incorporating new members Rutgers and Maryland into a new divisional alignment.

The result for the Iowa Hawkeyes was a schedule with some quirks. And some opportunity.

The Hawkeyes, who will be part of the new Western Division, will play only two teams from the Eastern Division that season and it will be Maryland and Indiana. They will not play perennial powers Ohio State, Michigan, Michigan State or Penn State.

Iowa’s games against Western Division powers Wisconsin and Nebraska are the last two games of the regular season and both will be at home.

Among the oddities of the schedule are the fact that the Hawkeyes will play only two games in October, but five in November.

Following a Sept. 13 nonconference game against Iowa State, they will play just two home games in the next nine weeks, mixing in five road games and byes Oct. 4 and Oct. 25. Included in that stretch is a nonconference road game at Pittsburgh.

The first three non-league games, against Northern Iowa, Ball State and Iowa State, will be played at Kinnick Stadium.

Rutgers will make its Big Ten debut Sept. 13, 2014, with a home game against Penn State, while Maryland starts with a Sept. 27 road game at Indiana.

Big Ten teams will continue to play eight conference games in 2014, 2015 and 2016, but will go to a nine-game slate in 2017.