Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Joe Wieskamp's historic senior season that has included him breaking Iowa's Class 4A all-time career scoring record was recognized with the Mississippi Athletic Conference's top honor. 

The Muscatine forward was named the MAC boys basketball's player of the year for the second straight year. 

Offensively, he led the MAC in field goals made (255), 3-pointers made (60), free throws made (204) and points per game (33.7). He also led the league in rebounds per game with 13.5. 

But Wieskamp has made it clear that what he's been most proud of is helping lead Muscatine (16-8) to the state tournament, where it will play No. 1 Iowa City West (19-4) in the Class 4A quarterfinals at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday. 

Wieskamp's teammate, Jackson Foulk, earned an honorable mention.

The 6-foot-1 senior is averaging 9.0 points, 2.3 rebounds and 1.9 assists per game in his second season as a starter for the Muskies.

Bettendorf's DJ Carton, North Scott's Corvon Seales, Pleasant Valley's Brian Dayman, Davenport West's Trey Sampson, Davenport Assumption's Trent Fitzpatrick and Pleasant Valley's Hunter Snyder join Wieskamp as first team all-MAC selections. 

Pleasant Valley's Steve Hillman was named MAC coach of the year.