Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Wapello's Trenton Massner (24) fires up a 3-pointer over Wilton’s Chase Miller during a January contest. Massner was named the SEISC North's Player of the Year. 


After finishing at the top of the conference, the Wapello boys basketball team also landed the most recognition on the all-Southeast Iowa Super Conference North teams. 

Leading the SEISC North in points (22.9), assists (7.4) and steals per game (2.9), Wapello senior Trenton Massner was named player of the year.

The man who has coached the Indians (23-1) to their first state tournament appearance in 24 seasons, Ken Spielbauer, earned coach of the year. 

Massner joins teammates Keaton Mitchell and Logan Belzer, as well as Louisa-Muscatine's Brady Walker, on the North Division first team. 

Mitchell has averaged 14.0 points and 8.9 rebounds per game, Belzer has scored 13.4 points and dished out 4.0 assists per contest, and Walker averaged 15.1 points and 7.9 rebounds in 23 games with the Falcons (11-12). 

Wapello's Gage Witte, L-M's Zach Bieri and Columbus Community's Tommy Pretz all earned spots on the second team. 

Witte is the fourth Indian who has averaged double-digit points this season, 10.1, and is corralling 6.4 rebounds per game. Bieri was second on the Falcons in points per game with 13.4 and third in rebounds with 4.0. Pretz led the Wildcats (0-22) in points (14.9) and rebounds (7.8). 

Wapello's Sam Short, L-M's Dawson Munday and Brandon Burmeister, and Columbus's Abel Mena and Eric Valdez all earned honorable mentions. 


Sports Reporter