Wilton is fresh off its best season in school history where it compiled a 9-2 record and made an appearance in the Class 1A state quarterfinals for the first time.

As a result, 13 of the 37 area players that made the cut for the Class 1A District 4 all-district team were from Wilton.

Jerome Mays, Cory Anderson and Jared Townsend were named district MVP's at their respective positions. Mays passed for 1,474 yards and 13 touchdowns in addition to rushing for 1,140 yards and 19 touchdowns in his junior season. Anderson was Mays' number one target, and the junior wide receiver hauled in 55 receptions, tied for the most in school history, for 671 yards and four touchdowns.

Townsend, a junior kicker, made 20-of-32 extra points and 2-of-3 field goals, including a long of 38 yards. He also had 12 touchbacks on 58 kickoffs.

Wilton had four players on the first team in linebacker Tyler Hartman, tight end Brock Hartley, defensive lineman Brian Stillman and defensive back Chantz Stevens. Offensive linemen Brayton Wade and Austin Pleggenkuhle and defensive lineman Clayton Cooling were second team, while Jacob Shepherd, Ronen Santiago and Drake Hayes were third team.

The Wapello football team also had nine players honored headlined by Laith Smith, who was a MVP as a defensive lineman. Quarterback Logan Belzer, who passed for 1,564 yards and 24 touchdowns, offensive lineman Gage Witte and wide receiver Sam Short were all on the first team.

Ricky Pforts and Bryant Lanz were on second team, and Jackson Weyrick, Brenton Ross and Caden Thomas were honorable mentions.

Eight Columbus-Junction players also made the team, including Nicholas Hernandez, who was named a district MVP at linebacker. He had 82 tackles and 3.5 tackles for loss this season. Quarterback Abel Mena and wide receiver Tommy Pretz were first team, Andrew King and Chance Colby were second team, and Bryan Solis, Cody Fox and Jaime Villegas were honorable mention.

Louisa-Muscatine had seven players make the list in addition to Matt Shoultz, who was named the district Coach of the Year in his first season. Chase Kruse, who accounted for 2,208 yards and 25 touchdowns at quarterback, made first team along with wide receiver Cody Calvelage. Gabe Hayes and Sam Kessel were second team, while Max McCulley, Brock Jeambey and Karson Cantrell were honorable mention.